MakingTracks - February

Media Releases · Music · 27th February 2013

NZ On Air will fund 23 new music projects from its first Making Tracks funding round for 2013.

The 23 projects were selected from a record field of 215 applications.

Fourteen are $10,000 grants for recording a song and making a music video to back up the release of the song and 9 are $6,000 grants for making a music video only.

This means NZ On Air has funded 145 Making Tracks projects so far this financial year (commencing on 1 July 2012) from 799 applications.

Decisions are based on the broadcast, music and audience merits of the songs that have been submitted. An independent panel of broadcasting and music professionals makes the recommendations.

The list of 23 February projects follows -

(a) Funding of up to $10,000 for each of the following 14 Making Tracks projects in the February 2013 round, comprising up to $4,000 for recording a song and $6,000 for making a music video of that same song -

Brooke Duff/The Real You
Cairo Knife Fight/Numb Distraction
Dane Rumble/Not Alone (featuring Jupiter Project)
Dudley Benson/Muscles
Estere/I Spy
Farah Loux/Great Escape
Lisa Crawley/Tide Is Low
Little Oceans/Illuminated
Sam Allen/Assurance
Smashproof/Paint Fade
The Phoenix Foundation/Thames Soup
Titanium/Soundtrack To Summer (featuring Jupiter Project)
Von Voin Strum/Take Me Home

(b) Funding of $6,000 for each of the following 9 Making Tracks projects in the February 2013 round, being funding for making a music video only -

Clara van Wel/Beautiful
Craig Terris/The Hills Of Song
Hurricane Kids/Over
Ladi6/Fall In Love
Males/So High
Tyree/Take Me Away (featuring Five A & Scribe)

The February Making Tracks panel was -

Greg Prebble [Radio Hauraki; Auckland]
Miles Buckingham [Radio Active, Wellington]
Phoebe Spiers [C4; Auckland]
Sam Wicks [; Auckland]
Ren Kirk [theaudience; Auckland]
Ben Campbell [Fledge Music, Christchurch]
Jeremy McPike [York Street Recording Studios; Auckland]

The next Making Tracks funding round closes at 5.00pm on Friday 01 March. Applications can be made online at